On the road: Mass., Maine, Denver & Baltimore

I’ve been on the road a lot this year, traveling the country looking for the finest beverages this country has to offer. Below is a round-up of my travel columns from this year for the Burlington Free Press.

Trillium Brewing Co. (Canton, Mass.)

My travels recently landed me in Boston with a little free time on my hands, so I decided to check out a brewery that I’ve meaning to get to since it opened in 2013: Trillium Brewing Co. The original brewery location is in the Fort Point area of Boston, not far from Harpoon Brewery and right next to the highly acclaimed Row 34 and Blue Dragon restaurants. I was staying in Jamaica Plain, so the prospect of driving through downtown on a Saturday morning was unappealing. But luckily for me Trillium has opened a production brewery in Canton, Massachusetts, only a 30 minute drive from where I was. Continue reading…

Baltimore Brews

When I told my coworkers I was going on vacation to Baltimore, Maryland, they looked at me like I had two heads.

My partner and I were off to visit a good friend who lives there and I had heard the craft beer scene has blossomed. So, I was stoked to dive into Maryland’s famous seafood restaurants and to drink my way around the city. When we weren’t “picking” blue crabs at L.P. Steamers (1100 E Fort Ave, Baltimore) and tossing back $2 “Natty Boh” tallboys, we were touring the city, looking for the best craft beer spots. Here’s a round-up of what we found. Continue reading…

Maine Meads

Lobster rolls aren’t the only thing happening in Portland, Maine. The city has become known as a buzzing metropolis in the craft brewing scene and is home to over a dozen breweries and brewpubs. Local coffee roasters, micro-distilleries and cideries are also enjoying a renaissance period, embracing beer tourists with open arms and full tasting glasses. On a recent trip to Portland I decided to veer off of my usual M.O. of hitting all the breweries, and instead sought the town’s celebrated meaderies, makers of  honey wine. Continue reading…

Great American Beer Festival 2016 (Denver, CO)

If you’ve never been to GABF, it’s hard to explain how massive this showing of American-brewed craft beer really is. Nearly 800 breweries exhibit over 3,800 beers in a hall that would fit about a half dozen football games going at once. In addition to all the beer, there are vendors selling beer-related gear, food vendors slinging beer-friendly dishes and even a cheese booth operated by the American Cheese Society. An additional fee will gain you entrance to “Paired,” a food-and-beer pairing experience, plus there are seminars and meet-the-brewer sessions during the fest. Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

